
Over the last couple of days, a Facebook virus has been going around, cropping up in user’s notifications that someone has, “commented on a photo of you” or “posted a photo of you.” Upon clicking the link, however, you’re taken to a blank 3rd party app page that is automatically installed on your profile.
From what I’ve gathered so far, there are 2 types of links (but could be more). The link includes “beta-dislike” or “photo-comments” in the URL. Simply mousing over the link in the notification will show the URL in the bottom left corner of your browser. If you see either one of those, DON”T CLICK ON IT. Photo links on Facebook are in this format: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=<ID>&subj=<ID>&id=<ID>. There could also be more info after the ?, but no other slashes in the URL. If you see any other slashes, err on the side of caution.
Don’t fret. So far, I haven’t seen any password stealing, profile changing, or other malicious actions. However, I have read that some of the code found in the app may be storing information and sending it to a 3rd party website. This leads me to believe the writer of the app is probably storing the information to sell it to spammers. Here’s how you can fix it.
First, uninstall the application. Go to Applications->Edit Applications in the bottom left  of the chat bar. Make sure “Show: Recently Used” is selected in the drop down box in the top right on the Edit Applications page. Check those apps, look for an app called “Tagged?,” and uninstall it. If you don’t see “Tagged?,” check for other apps that you did not install and get rid of them. Next, it would be worthwhile to change your Facebook password for good measure.
Finally, report the link. In your Notifications, right click the link and copy it from  the notification in question. Go to this page, fill out the form, and submit.  If you have any more information on this little Facebook pandemic, make sure to leave them in the comments! I will post updates here as well (so if you’re reading this on Facebook, you might want to click through to my blog).
Is Facebook team doing something about this? I had been duped by something like this once and I ended up dis-activating my account! It really just keep in coming. Is the blackhat people brighter than those implementing the securities?
Well, some time ago it was global security alert about Facebook Video Virus (so called Koobface). It gets into your PC when you try to watch certain Facebook video and get an error:
“You need to update your Adobe Flash”
or something like this – and you download file like setup.exe. When you install it you are infected.
The major annoyance of this virus is strange captcha which appears on every shutdown of your PC. PC won’t shut down until you type in symbols.
Seems Facebook Photo Virus has the same authors.
I cant get on my facebook and i have done what you said to do and it hadnt help so what do i do now !!!!
I’ve been affected by this too. Facebook is the only website it seems to be affecting so far. I ended up de-activating my account! It really just keeps on coming. Are the black hat people brighter than those implementing the securities? P